Sharing Files, Folders & Sections

It’s easy to share access to any resource in Folderit DMS — from a single file to your whole account. And of course you can choose the permissions they have over the resource.

Folderit features 3 permission levels that you can use whichever resource you grant someone access to. The permissions are:

  1. Previewer — Preview-only permission that allows the user to see the documents shared to them only as a preview in-system. They cannot even download any files, or do anything else with the documents or the system.
    Preview function is only available in Silver plan and above.
  2. Viewer — The user can preview the files shared to them in-system, and download files. They cannot change any metadata or versions, they also cannot delete files.
  3. Editor — Editors can preview and download files, change metadata, add versions and delete the documents shared to them with ‘Editor’ permission. Sharing a folder or section with ‘Editor’ permission allows the person to add files and folders into that structure. Granting ‘Editor’ permissions on an account level will make the person an administrator of that account.

General tips: clicking on the sharing icon will allow you to start sharing the resource. Shared resource’s sharing icon turns blue in the list view for an easy overview. Clicking it again allows you to modify the current sharing permissions and share to more people.

Sharing an Individual File

Click on the Sharing button on the right side in list view:

Or, when you click on the file and get to the details view, choose ‘Share’ from the toolbar:

When you click on the sharing icon or button, a window appears:

Now think if you want to share the document to an individual user, a group of users or make it accessible via a public link so that everyone who knows it, can access it.

  • Sharing to a registered user — Type in the email address of your registered collaborator on the ‘Share to (e-mail)’ field. Then choose the permission level (Preview, Viewer, Editor) and if you want the access to this file expire in time. If so, turn on ‘Expiration’ toggle and choose date and time when access to the resource will be restricted for this user.
    Click ‘Share’ to activate the sharing. Then you can start sharing to another person or group or exit the window.
  • Sharing to an user group — If you have created a user group, you can share the resource to all of them at once. For that, click on ‘User groups’ and choose the group you have created from the drop-down list. Then choose the permission level (Preview, Viewer, Editor) and if you want the access to this file expire in time. If so, turn on ‘Expiration’ toggle and choose date and time when access to the resource will be restricted for this user group.
  • Sharing with a public link — Click on the ‘Public link’ toggle to activate a public link. You can copy the link from the text field or click on ‘Copy’. Who ever knows the link can access the file now but only to download it. They cannot preview, modify or delete the file when accessing it anonymously. If you want the link to automatically stop working at any point of time, toggle on ‘Expiration’ and choose date and time, or manually toggle ‘Public link’ off when you no longer want it active.
    Note that the link is automatically generated each time you toggle it on, so if you have an active link and you toggle ‘Public link’ off and on again, the links will not be the same.

Sharing a Folder and Section

In file list view, click on the sharing button at the end of the row of a folder name:

To grant access to a Section, hover your mouse over its name and click on the settings (gear) icon that appears. Choose ‘Share’ from there:

On both cases similar sharing window appears:

Now think if you want to share the folder/section to an individual user, a group of users or make it accessible via a public link so that everyone who knows it, can access its content.

  • Sharing to a registered user — Type in the email address of your registered collaborator on the ‘Share to (e-mail)’ field. Then choose the permission level (Preview, Viewer, Editor — only Editors can add and delete files from the folder) and if you want their access to this folder expire in time. If so, turn on the ‘Expiration’ toggle and choose date and time when access to the resource will be restricted for this user.
    Click ‘Share’ to activate the sharing. Then you can start sharing to another person or group or exit the window.
  • Sharing to an user group — If you have created a user group, you can share the resource to all of them at once. For that, click on ‘User groups’ and choose the group you have created from the drop-down list. Then choose the permission level (Preview, Viewer, Editor) and if you want the access to this file expire in time. If so, turn on ‘Expiration’ toggle and choose date and time when access to the resource will be restricted for this user group.
  • Sharing with a public link — Click on the ‘Public link’ toggle to activate a public link. You can copy the link from the text field or click on ‘Copy’. Who ever knows the link can access the folder’s content but only to download the files. They cannot preview, modify or delete anything. If you want the link to automatically stop working at any point of time, toggle on ‘Expiration’ and choose date and time, or manually toggle ‘Public link’ off when you no longer want it active.
    Note that the link is automatically generated each time you toggle it on, so if you have an active link and you toggle ‘Public link’ off and on again, the links will not be the same.

To share access to your whole account with another user, read this article: Granting an account-level access.

Here’s a video overview of who the sharing of files and folders work in Folderit DMS: